Quotes

Quotes I’ve liked and accumulated on my FB page over the years, shared here for no reason other than the sake of sharing them:

“The smaller the coffin, the heavier it is to carry.” – Khawaja Asif

“It’s never too early to start beefing up your obituary.” – The Most Interesting Man in the World

“Every day holds the possibility of a miracle.” – Elizabeth David

“Fine. Go. Find whatever it is you want from her. Vengeance. Peace. Babies. Hate.” – Andy Botwin, “Weeds”

“You laugh at his dumb jokes. He tell you your bad dinner taste good. That what make marriage work.” – Mah Mah, “American Dad”
“You know, Rick, I have many a friend in Casablanca, but somehow, just because you despise me, you are the only one I trust.” – Ugarte

” Look, lady. I just got my coffee the perfect color. It’s the only thing I’ve got going for me tonight.” – Art Ridzik, “Red Heat”

“Women are made to be loved, not understood. ” — Oscar Wilde

“It’s not an addiction. It’s just an overwhelming need that controls my life.” – Pickles Oblong

“My formula for living is quite simple. I get up in the morning and I go to bed at night. In between, I occupy myself as best I can.” – Cary Grant

”You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream.”—C. S. Lewisa

“How you do anything is how you do everything.”—Tom Davin

“Being a liberal is the best thing on earth you can be. You are welcoming to everyone when you’re a liberal. You do not have a small mind.” – Lauren Bacall

“I used to hate all those teachers. Then I found out what they were paid and realized they weren’t mean; they were just hungry.” – Fibber McGee

“I just wish my income would catch up with my taste.” – Fibber McGee

“A word to the wise ain’t necessary; it’s the stupid ones that need the advice.” – Bill Cosby

“Never in the field of human conflict was so much owed by so many to so few.” – Winston Churchill

“I think the person who takes a job in order to live – that is to say, for the money – has turned himself into a slave.” – Joseph Campbell

“Inspiration is wonderful when it happens, but the writer must develop an approach for the rest of the time… The wait is simply too long.” – Leonard Bernstein

“It’s as sterile as my milkman trusting father.” – Professor Hubert Farnsworth, “Futurama”

“What’s so great about Bing Crosby? All he ever sings is ‘White Christmas.’ If they ever change the color of Christmas he’s through.” – Gracie Allen

“Codeine…bourbon…” – Tallulah Bankhead’s last words

“Essentially, we have a system where wealthy farmers feed the poor crap and poor farmers feed the wealthy high-quality food.” – Michael Pollan

“We invoke the sacrifices of our fallen heroes in the abstract, but we seldom take time to thank them individually.” – Rahm Emanuel

“You can safely assume you have created God in your image when it turns out He hates all the same people you do.” – Anne Lamott

“My wife Mary and I have been married for forty-seven years and not once have we had an argument serious enough to consider divorce; murder, yes, but divorce, never.” – Jack Benny

“Happiness? A good cigar, a good meal, a good cigar and a good woman – or a bad woman; it depends on how much happiness you can handle.” –
George Burns

“Difference of opinion is advantageous in religion. The several sects perform the office of a Censor – over each other.” – Thomas Jefferson

“I honestly believe it is better to be a failure at something you love than a success at something you hate.” – George Burns

Leave a Reply

