Empty quiet house…

K and the boys are off in the other Washington visiting friends and family in the area, and I decided to take a few vacation days to relax and get some work done at home that I can’t always manage to when I’ve got toddlers…toddling, and what-not, right under foot.
Between work, home in general, the twins in particular, and all the other bits and pieces that account for my time, I have been missing a lot of sleep and failing to get things that are important to our family (like home maintenance) and things that are important to me (like writing) done. Hopefully I’ll be able to catch up to only a little behind this week!
That said, my emotional stages regarding this “stag” time have been surprisingly inconsistent. They have gone something along the lines of:
• Oh my God, I can’t wait until you people get out of my hair.
• You’re leaving tomorrow? Already?
• OH MY GOD, I can’t wait until you people get out of my hair!
• I can’t believe they’re gone…
• This house is really empty and quiet…
• THAT WAS THE BEST SLEEP ANYONE EVER HAS EVER HAD EVER!!! STAY AWAY FOREVER!
• This house is really empty and quiet…
• *has panic attack trying to decide what to do with all this time*
• I can strut around with the TV up and vacuum at midnight and not bother anyone! This is awesome!
• NO, THIS WAS THE BEST SLEEP ANYONE EVER HAS EVER HAD EVER!!!
• My purpose seems a little less purposeful…
• That was a good run; a good lonely, lonely run.
• This house is really empty and quiet…
• I’m staying out late with beer and cigars and grilling under our open windows and IDGAF! Time by myself rules!!!
• Who did I cook all this food for?
• *has panic attack trying to decide what to do with all this time*
• At least I can finally get some writing – my sole catharsis – done!
• *has writer’s-block panic attack*
• This house is really empty and quiet…

It's not all drudgery when they're here...

It’s not all drudgery when they’re here…

Leave a Reply

